Book Review – Shape By Shape

I love books, all kinds of books. I have a lot of them and have even more ebooks. However I find when it comes to quilting books, I really love a physical copy.

I have recently found Angela Walters and Natalia Bonner as inspiration for my new found love of longarm quilting. So of course me being me, I had to buy books from each of these wonderful quilters.

So, today I am going to review a book by Angela Walters called Shape by Shape Vol 1.

613FsGWdg7L._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_

I ordered it from the Book Depository and received it in record time. I actually ordered Vol 2 as well. Well why not?!

Anyway, it has over 70 quilting designs in it and it is separated into sections using shapes of blocks, borders and backgrounds. I found that to be a very interesting idea. I looked through the book and was pleasantly surprised to see variations of each design and ways to use the design in other types of shapes. There is step-by-step instructions on how to do each design, definitely something that is really useful. For me this is a book I would have very close to my longarm machine to use as a ready reference when I have different shaped blocks, or borders I want to quilt but am a little stuck. It has a lot of designs at your fingertips for easy access.

I have been practising like crazy and I have already used some ideas from her book. I really love her attitude of ‘close enough is good enough’ and ‘a finished quilt is better than a perfect quilt’. I think especially in my case I get too caught up in trying for perfection that I forget to enjoy the process and just get on with quilting. Angela Walters has helped me ‘get over myself’ and really get back into enjoying quilting and experimenting and giving myself permission to get it close enough and not constantly trying to get it perfect.

Shape by Shape is a really handy book to have if you need inspiration for different quilting designs and all the designs work for the longarm, a domestic or sit down machine.

I would definitely recommend this book.

Let’s make scraps beautiful,

Suzanne

Leave a Reply

